57. Slaughterhouse-Five by Kurt Vonnegut and science fiction stories for literary fiction lovers

Today Chelsey and Sara are discussing Slaughterhouse-Five by Kurt Vonnegut. We take some conversational bunny trails to explore our high school reading experiences, our relationships with science fiction, and our philosophical ponderings inspired by Billy Pilgrim’s story. As usual, we’re recommending six contemporary books to pair with Vonnegut’s most famous work, including anti-war satire and… Continue reading 57. Slaughterhouse-Five by Kurt Vonnegut and science fiction stories for literary fiction lovers

56. Speech Sounds by Octavia Butler, a short story club discussion

Today in “Short Story Club,” Chelsey and Sara are discussing “Speech Sounds” by Octavia Butler. This post-pandemic story about the importance of language and communication feels incredibly prescient and relevant, like all of Butler’s work. “Speech Sounds” is a highly discussable, quick read. We’d love to hear your thoughts on it! Join our Patreon community… Continue reading 56. Speech Sounds by Octavia Butler, a short story club discussion

55. Giovanni’s Room by James Baldwin and modern pairings with evocative writing

Today Chelsey and Sara are discussing Giovanni’s Room by James Baldwin. We both loved this evocative, ground-breaking classic and couldn’t wait to dig into its setting, themes, and stunning writing. As usual, we’re recommending six contemporary books to pair with Baldwin’s classic, including poignant YA novels, memoir, and essays. Listen to the episode in your… Continue reading 55. Giovanni’s Room by James Baldwin and modern pairings with evocative writing

54. Pride and Prejudice retellings, sequels, and pastiche

We couldn’t close our immersive Pride and Prejudice experience without sharing a bunch of book recommendations for readers who want to stay with Elizabeth and Darcy awhile longer. Today, Chelsey and Sara share their favorite and least favorite Pride and Prejudice pastiche, sequels, adaptations, and retellings.  Download the episode in your favorite podcast app or… Continue reading 54. Pride and Prejudice retellings, sequels, and pastiche

53. Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen Part Two

In today’s episode, Chelsey and Sara discuss Part Two of Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen and share their contemporary pairings for romantic and insightful books that feature similar themes. We talk about the sweeping drama, swoony moments, and satisfying ending of the second half of Lizzie and Darcy’s love story, with plenty of nerdy… Continue reading 53. Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen Part Two

52. Backlist pairings for our most anticipated Spring 2021 book releases

Chelsey and Sara pair brand new and upcoming spring book releases with backlist titles that share similar themes, plotlines, or settings. We haven’t read all of these new releases, so our pairings are based on speculation and best guesses. Listen to this episode in your favorite podcast player or in your web browser. Connect with… Continue reading 52. Backlist pairings for our most anticipated Spring 2021 book releases

50. Quarterly Favorites: the stand-out books we read in Winter 2020-2021

Chelsey and Sara share some stand-out titles they read over the winter season, including amazing audiobooks, short story collections, and page-turning romance. These quarterly wrap-ups include reflections on our winter season, previews of what’s coming up, and a bunch of book recommendations. We can’t wait to hear what you think of our favorites from the… Continue reading 50. Quarterly Favorites: the stand-out books we read in Winter 2020-2021

49. The Bloody Chamber by Angela Carter and twisted Gothic fairytales to read in one sitting

Today Chelsey and Sara are discussing The Bloody Chamber by Angela Carter. This collection of twisted, gothic fairytales is perfect for fans of Rebecca, Jane Eyre, or Edgar Allan Poe. We’re keeping this episode spoiler-free, though we do discuss specific aspects of several stories. We loved connecting this collection across literary movements, explaining the heroine’s… Continue reading 49. The Bloody Chamber by Angela Carter and twisted Gothic fairytales to read in one sitting

Loading…

Something went wrong. Please refresh the page and/or try again.


Follow Novel Pairings

Get new content delivered directly to your inbox.