50. Quarterly Favorites: the stand-out books we read in Winter 2020-2021

Chelsey and Sara share some stand-out titles they read over the winter season, including amazing audiobooks, short story collections, and page-turning romance. These quarterly wrap-ups include reflections on our winter season, previews of what’s coming up, and a bunch of book recommendations. We can’t wait to hear what you think of our favorites from the… Continue reading 50. Quarterly Favorites: the stand-out books we read in Winter 2020-2021

49. The Bloody Chamber by Angela Carter and twisted Gothic fairytales to read in one sitting

Today Chelsey and Sara are discussing The Bloody Chamber by Angela Carter. This collection of twisted, gothic fairytales is perfect for fans of Rebecca, Jane Eyre, or Edgar Allan Poe. We’re keeping this episode spoiler-free, though we do discuss specific aspects of several stories. We loved connecting this collection across literary movements, explaining the heroine’s… Continue reading 49. The Bloody Chamber by Angela Carter and twisted Gothic fairytales to read in one sitting

48. Fairytale retellings for readers of all ages

In Episode 48, Sara and Chelsey topple your TBR lists with fairytale retellings for every type of reader. They reminisce about the book that sparked their love of retellings and discuss why fairytales are still so appealing to adult readers. Books mentioned: Ella Enchanted by Gail Carson Levine (Amazon)The Two Princesses of Bamarre by Gail… Continue reading 48. Fairytale retellings for readers of all ages

47. There is Confusion by Jessie Redmon Fauset and ambitious family stories that span generations

Today Chelsey and Sara are discussing There is Confusion by Jessie Redmon Fauset. We loved this Austen-like Harlem Renaissance novel, and we kept this episode spoiler free in the hopes that it’ll encourage you to pick it up! Plus, as always, we’re recommending six contemporary books to pair with our classic, with a mix of… Continue reading 47. There is Confusion by Jessie Redmon Fauset and ambitious family stories that span generations

46. Love letters to books: nonfiction books about the reading life

Readers, today’s episode is inspired by Helene Hanff’s love of books, nonfiction, and observation. We’re sharing a bunch of nonfiction books about books, reading, and readers. Some of these are longtime favorites and others are on our endless TBR lists. This episode is extra nerdy, a little nostalgic, and supremely bookish. We hope you find… Continue reading 46. Love letters to books: nonfiction books about the reading life

45. 84 Charing Cross Road by Helene Hanff and charming books for devoted bibliophiles

Today Chelsey and Sara are discussing 84 Charing Cross Road by Helen Hanff, the ultimate comfort read for bibliophiles. Chelsey can’t believe she hadn’t read it sooner, and Sara revels in her rereading experience. We cover everything from the epistolary form to Helene’s unique reading habits to the satisfaction of a bittersweet ending. Plus, as… Continue reading 45. 84 Charing Cross Road by Helene Hanff and charming books for devoted bibliophiles

44.5 Anticipated book releases for winter 2021 and backlist books to read while you wait

Today Chelsey and Sara are ready to topple your TBRs with highly anticipated winter releases and backlist books. Our goal is to hype up the buzzy new books and under-the-radar releases while offering pairings that are easier to get at the library (or more affordable in paperback). Listen in your favorite podcast app or click… Continue reading 44.5 Anticipated book releases for winter 2021 and backlist books to read while you wait

44. Short Story Club: The Hunter’s Wife by Anthony Doerr and wintry books to cozy up with this season

Today in Short Story Club, Chelsey and Sara are discussing “The Hunter’s Wife”  by Anthony Doerr. This wintry, atmospheric story is absolutely absorbing and highly discussable. We talk about the beautiful writing, the unique structure, and some problematic aspects of the characters and plot. We do discuss spoilers in our Short Story Club episodes; you… Continue reading 44. Short Story Club: The Hunter’s Wife by Anthony Doerr and wintry books to cozy up with this season

Loading…

Something went wrong. Please refresh the page and/or try again.


Follow Novel Pairings

Get new content delivered directly to your inbox.